Yes I can speak.

Yes I can speak,
but I still have Autism too,
That’s what makes me unique,
And different from you.

Yes I can speak,
But your language is hard,
That’s what makes me shriek,
Your words I disregard.

Yes I can speak,
But the words aren’t always my own,
My echolalia technique,
Different conversations I clone.

Yes I can speak,
But you are hard to understand,
Your expressions throw me off peak,
I can’t meet you demands

So don’t assume just who I am by what I have to say,
Think of the struggles I have with your language everyday.
I know what your saying if its black and white and said in a blunt, clear way,
But when you ask me to do 3 things in a row I really don’t know what to say.

I don’t understand more than one thing at a time, I can’t process that information,
My brain is so busy keeping at bay my anxieties and frustration.
Keep it so simple I need to understand, to fit into civilisation,
Yes I can speak, but I have Autism too and we need to raise awareness in the whole nation.

Yes I can speak.
I have Autism too.
That is what makes me unique,
I am different to you.

Leave a Reply

