Siblings

​Being a sibling of a child with Autism can be hard.
I see the challenges daily.

I feel the guilt.
Being a sibling of a child with Autism can be rewarding and enlightening.
I see the love grow.

I feel so proud.
Raising a sibling of a child with Autism provokes every emotion.
I see fear.
I feel unfair.

Unfair that I use more of my time with my child with Autism.
Unfair because of the demands that Autism puts on the family.
Unfair that the sibling may feel less loved.

Raising a sibling of a child with Autism has made me evaluate how I respond to the needs of my family.
Raising a sibling of a child with Autism has taught me to put others needs before my own.

The sibling of a child with Autism has taught me more about myself than I ever knew.
The sibling of a child with Autism has taught me patience, independance and resilience above and beyond their age.

The sibling of a child with Autism has taught me that no matter how sad that child makes you feel,
how much of your parents time they take, 
how many of your free hours they use up,
how their plans may have to change in a blink of an eye,
how most things depend on how their sibling will cope;
The sibling of a child with Autism has taught love.

Love like no other.
Sibling love.
Unconditional love.

The sibling of my child with Autism is my idol, my inspiration, my everything I wanted to be.

I have so much respect. 

So much love.
…..so much guilt.

Leave a Reply

