To whom it may concern,

To whom it may concern,

I am writing this at my wits end.
I have had a very bad day and I feel that most of it is your fault.

You don’t know me, but I know you have made the decision to make the school summer holidays 6 weeks long.
You obviously do not have children.
You obviously do not have any children with special needs.
If you did, I know you would change the rules.
Not only to save your sanity, but also because you would know how difficult the beginning and end weeks are.

Let me share with you the routine of our holidays.
My daughter is 9 1/2 she has Autism, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome type 3 and numerous other problems. I also have a 7 year old neurotypical son.
The first 2 weeks of our holidays are spent transitioning our children from school to home.
Those weeks are hard. 
Our children struggle with the change in routine and lack of structure.
Meltdowns occur frequently. 
We cannot get out the house as our children cannot tolerate the chaos on the roads and busyness of the tourist attractions that many people flood down to ‘use’ as we are lucky enough to live in Cornwall.

The next 2 weeks are generally more settled as some routine has formed.
Still people keep coming and so we are imprisoned by holiday makers.
Visits to the shops are even impossible as the roads are like car parks and my child can’t understand why our 6 min drive to Tesco has become 20mins, and why once we get there, the blue badge spaces are being used by non badge holders and there are no spaces in the entire place.

Then the last 2 weeks. The weeks where I am completely losing my patience.

I am exhausted trying to occupy my children.
We have to start the transition back to school.
We have to reintroduce strict routine and structure.
After the 4 weeks it has taken to settle my child into holiday mode, I now have to spend the last 2 weeks up to my eyeballs in meltdowns, as my child cannot understand why we have to go back to school, and everything has to change again. 

Mr ‘summer holidays should be 6 weeks’ I invite you to spend the next one with us.

Encounter the difficulties we suffer, not only with my Autistic child, but also with my ‘bored out of his mind’ 7 year old who has to also endure the stress daily.

Should you decide this not to be an option please provide your address and we will come and stay with you.

Now I love my children more than life itself, but, sir, we all have our limits.

Yours faithfully,

An at the end of her tether, you caught me on a bad day, still got bedtime to go,

Autism Mum.

Leave a Reply

