The Christmassy Woods.

I have written a Christmassy story about Autism, loosely based around the style of The Gruffalo.
Please let me know what you think.

The Christmassy Woods.

An elf took a stroll through a Christmassy wood,
The elf saw a child and stopped where it stood,
“What are you doing here, you shouldn’t be alone,
Here hold my hand and I’ll take you home,”
“No I am here with my friend and he’s called William,
But I think he maybe lost as he has Autism.”
“Autism, What is Autism?”
“Autism? Stay here and listen,”
Well he doesn’t talk much but makes alot of sounds,
And sometimes he spins around and around.
“Which direction did he go in?”
“He went up past those trees,
Can I have your help to find him please?”
“Silly little boy, don’t make up a condition,
There is not such a thing as Autism.”

On went the elf through the Christmassy wood
The friend trying to run as fast as he could
“Why are you following me, go play your game,
Stop making up stories you should be ashamed,”
“No I AM here with my friend and he is called William,
But I think he may be lost as he has Autism.”
“Autism? What is Autism?”
“Autism? Please listen.”
“He won’t answer to his name but he hears what I say,
I don’t think he understands how to play.”
“What game were you both playing?”
“We were playing hide and seek,
Something must have spooked him as I heard him shriek.”
“Silly little boy, don’t make up a condition,
The child is being naughty, its not called Autism.”

On went the elf through the Christmassy wood,
He stopped and had a look around where he stood,
There was a boy quickly spinning around,
Not saying words but making loud sounds,
He didn’t look different, like he had a condition,
But why would that boy have made up Autism?
He stood with his hands cupped over his ears,
The elf looked for his friend, but he had dissappeared,
“Oh help, maybe this boy does have a condition,
What do I say to this boy with Autism?”

The elf stood still in the Christmassy wood,
The elf saw that the boy was being good,
“What are you doing stood under these trees?
Take my hand and come with me please.”
“Hello I am William, how do you do?”
“Hello I’m an Elf, nice to meet you.”
The boy was avoiding looking the elf in the eye,
His head rolling back looking up at the sky,
Where is his friend, why didn’t I listen,
I think this boy William but have Autism.

The elf turned and ran through the Christmassy wood,
He ran and ran as fast as he could,
Looking through the woods for Williams friend,
Wishing he’d looked which way he went,
Wishing he’d listened to what the boy said,
His steps he was carefully trying to retread,
Why did I ignore it, why didn’t I care,
I need to make people more Autism aware,
Oh, there’s his friend, “Hey I’ve found William,
I’m sorry I didn’t listen when you said he had Autism.”

The elf and the boy went back through the wood,
Finding the spot where William was stood,
Watching him look at the light through the trees,
Getting enjoyment from the movement of leaves,
“I’m sorry said the elf, I’m telling Santa today,
To spread Autism awareness when he’s out in his sleigh,
William doesn’t look like he has a condition,
I thought I’d be able to see something called Autism,
I am going to ask santa to make everyone aware,
That Autism isn’t made up, it is really there.”

Leave a Reply

