Sibling birthday!

It can’t be easy being the sibling of a child with Autism.
My boy goes through so much more than anyone could ever imagine.
But somehow he manages to still be the rock for my girl, he is her support, her role model.

My girl makes my boy’s life difficult, there is no sugar coating it.
Not all the time. They can be loving, caring and playing nicely together, then it can be pandemonium……much the same as any other siblings.

My time is not divided equally between my children, with my girl’s needs requiring more of me.
Amazingly, my boy understands, never complaining.
We squeeze hugs in between situations as much as we can.
He knows that my love is not measured in time.

My children have very different likes.
My girls obsessions over ruling any theme of toys my boy likes.
He doesn’t mind. He actively makes an effort to learn and join in.
He is, in essence, the peace keeper.

His patience has no bounds.
His reassurance to me or his sister in times of high stress or need, is immeasurable.
My boys hugs and words of ‘it’s Ok’, make everything seem better.
His understanding, and explanations, of my girls behaviours, make me stop and think.
My boys empathy is awe inspiring. He feels what my girl feels, he just knows.

My boy is no average brother, or son.
He is one in a million.

Today was his 8th Birthday.
It was difficult for my girl, from start to finish.
The day has had many a meltdown, frustrations boiling over the rim.
Too much was different, the attention not on her.
My heart hurt watching as he stood watching my girl lost control.
He just stood and waited.
And waited.
For it to pass.

His sense of humour gets him through the tough times.
The occasional roll of his eyes making me smile when I feel like crying.

He never complains.
He never asks for things to change.

My boy does not like Autism, but he loves his sister, and that is all he needs.
Love.

Happy Birthday to the most amazing, handsome, tolerant, patient, wise young man that I have ever had the privaledge to know.
Happy Birthday to my boy.

Leave a Reply

