Mothers day blog share.

In honour of being a SEND Blogger mum I was asked to join up with a whole host of others sharing interviews about who we are and what motherhood is like for us.
Our blog buddies were picked at random and I got a blogger who I follow called Laura who writes for the page:
https://www.facebook.com/mumoam/

http://www.mumoam.co.uk

1. Introduce yourself – I am Laura, Mum to William who is 8 (how the heck have I got an 8 year old) and wife to Kev. I live in Worthing, West Sussex and am known as the cake maker/loo lady / mum on a mission!

2. What piece of advice would you give to another Mum in the same circumstances as you?
Make sure you surround yourself with people who ‘get it’ those people will be your lifeline. You can find people like this by going to support groups which are usually run by local charities or your local childrens center. Ask you Portage worker or your childs physio/OT etc to introduce you to other families who have children with similar conditions so you know you are not alone, because YOU AREN’T!

3. What’s the best piece of advice another Mum has given you?
Expect to fight for everything and don’t take no for an answer. Just because the professional you are dealing with is telling you something can’t be done / given to you doesn’t mean they are right!

4. What one thing did your mum always used to say to you which you have found yourself repeating since becoming a Mum?
“Have a banana” honestly, this was my Mum’s answer to everything and now whenever William is ill or doesn’t want to eat or just seems generally not himself I give him a banana and it fixes everything! Weird right?!

5. Who would play you in a movie of your life? Easy… Minnie Driver, because she already does in Speechless!

6. What are your plans for Mother’s Day this year?
No plans! I’m expecting the day before Mothers Day to be nice and quiet as Kev sneaks off to Tesco with William to buy a card and a bunch of daffs though!!

7. If you could go back to the beginning, what would you tell yourself as a Mum of a newly diagnosed child?
I’d tell myself that it will all be ok, maybe not in the usual sense of the word but life will carry on and we will have lots of happy times and that whilst it might not be what we were expecting that doesn’t mean it won’t still be great.

8. What is the biggest battle you’ve faced as a Mum?
I have fought everyone over the last 8 years, therapists who have been negative and unwilling to try new things, services who didn’t want to give me enough nappies/medicines/respite etc. I’ve fought for Williams school placement but the biggest battles have been the ones I am still fighting with businesses to provide Changing Places toilets and they’re the most frustrating because I am not currently winning, and that’s not something I am used to!

9. If you were PM for the day what would you change to make life easier for Mums of disabled children?
One thing? That’s hard (and I wrote these questions – what was I thinking!) The one thing I’d change would be to bring in a service you can complain to about equality issues or anything relating to disability where you are being unfairly treated so you could complain – whether that be the poor assistance on public transport or not getting the support you need from your local services, or even when a business isn’t making reasonable adjustments – I think there should be an independent service you could make formal complaints to so that they can then issue fines, make changes or challenge decisions and take the strain off parents and carers, and disabled people themselves.

10. What’s the best thing about being a Mum? The smiles, cuddles and the look William gives me.

11. Funniest moment as a mum?
I wish I could think of something hilarious but at the moment I can’t!! My funny moments are usually when William gets the giggles at something I don’t expect him to find funny, adult humour usually!

12. Who are your favourite Mum bloggers?
My favourite SEND blogger is Laura Rutherford, I love to read all her blogs and am honoured when she asks me to proof them for her – not that they ever need changing! For non SEND blogs I love to read Charlotte of Write like no one is watching and Totes Inappropes makes me laugh out loud so I always read her posts too!

13. What is your life motto?
I live by the motto that everything happens for a reason. I am a very positive person because of this, in reality I shouldn’t be as Ive faced a shit load of heart ache and terrible times over my 40 years on this planet but I cant let it bring me down so I tell myself that everything happens for a reason and I truly do believe that. If I hadn’t lost my dad when I was younger I wouldn’t have met my husband and wouldn’t have William, if I hadn’t had William I wouldn’t have the friends I have now. Everything is linked and I believe everything links to something else happening.

14. Finally, if you won the lottery today, what’s the first thing you would buy?
Private Jet – I would have won enough for that wouldn’t I? It would be fully wheelchair accessible and suitable for William of course!!

Go follow her…..she’s fab!

Leave a Reply

