Autism around the clock.

Tomorrow sees the return of school, the return of strict routine, the return of massive anxieties, the return of meltdowns, the return of biting; the return of the dark side of Autism.
Already my girl has changed back into an anxiety consumed, angry, fustrated, 10 year old.

Autism affects every second of our lifes, but school days it takes over……us all.
School days go something like this;

6.30am. Time to wake child up for school.
No need. My girl has been awake all night.
Autism.
7.00am. Go downstairs.
My girl has to pick her soft toys up in order to take downstairs. If she drops one, she goew back and starts again.
Autism.
7.30am. Breakfast.
Cheese on toast and a smoothie. Every day.
Autism.
8.00am. Time to get dressed.
Meltdown…..the realisation it’s almost time for school.
Autism.
8.10am. My girl has barricaded herself under her bed and is “never coming out until there is no school”.
Autism.
8.30am. My boy goes off to school with his Grandad because I can’t take him as my girl is always late.
Autism.
8.45am. My girl comes out of under her bed.
Autism.
8.50am. She sits quietly on the sofa. Undressed.
Autism.
9.00am. I remind her it is a school day.
Autism.
9.05am. My girl goes back under her bed.
Autism.
9.10am. I try and talk her down. My girl shouts “you are a horrible mum, nice mums wouldn’t make me go somewhere I hate.”
Autism.
9.30am…..still shouting.
Autism.
9.45am – 11am. My girl calms. Somewhere in this time she will decide to go to school.
Autism.
10.00am.ish. I dress my girl.
Clothes must be put on in a certain order or she undresses and we start again.
Autism.
10.05am. Brush teeth.
Sensory problems mean shouting, screaming or complete refusal.
Autism.
10.05am. Socks and shoes on.
Socks inside out, pulled up tight, seams over toes in an exact spot.
Autism.
10.10am. Hairbrushed.
Sensory problems mean shouting, screaming or complete refusal.
Half brushed.
Autism.
10.15am. Check everything is ready for school.
Kiss each teddy 6 times, in order and blow the rest kisses. In a correct order or we start again.
Autism.
10.18. Refuses school without her cap. Puts cap on.
Autism.
10.20-11.00am. Get in the car
11.05am. Get to school.
Kiss each teddy 6 times, in order, and blow the rest kisses. In a correct order or we start again.
Autism.
11.07am. Put teddies in bag.
Cable tie bag to reduce anxieties that they will be stolen.
Autism.
11.10am. In school.
Hand over my girl to the TA.
Kisses me 3 times.
Autism.
11.10am-2.45pm. My girl is in school.
Attend meetings. Chase paperwork. File paperwork. Ring for appointments. Research. Tidy up trashed bedroom due to hiding under the bed. Place teddies in the exact same spot they have always been in. Shop for chicken dippers, bread and cheese.
Autism.
2.45pm. Go to school early to get a space in the carpark.
Sit in the car and enjoy 20mins peace.
Autism.
3.05pm. Collect son from classroom.
Son quickly eats any treat or cooking he has so as not to create an argument.
Autism.
3.08pm. Collect my girl.
Handover from the teacher. Pack all her stuff away. Collect her bag and coat.
Autism.
3.15pm. Get in car. Puts her cap back on.
Grabs phone for Pokémon.
Autism.
3.20pm. Drive 2 miles collecting Pokéstops.
Autism.
3.30pm. Arrive home.
Meltdown.
Autism.
4.00pm. Meltdown continues.
Autism.
4.15pm. Calming. Asks for food.
Autism.
4.30pm. Tea.
Chicken dippers, waffles and vegetables, or plain pasta with cheese.
Autism.
4.40pm. Eats tea.
With hands. All over floor.
Autism.
5.00pm. Asks for Daddy
Again. And again. And again.
Autism.
5.10pm. Spinning, jumping, flapping.
Autism.
5.15pm. Plays on tablet….
Whilst asking for Daddy again and again.
Autism.
5.30pm. Daddy comes home.
My girl ignores him and plays on tablet.
Autism.
5.35pm. Daddys home!
Screaming, jumping, flapping, hitting.
Autism.
5.40pm. Chill out time.
Tablet, same game. Over and over. Same youtube clip over and over.
Autism.
6.00pm. Warning that bedtime is at 7.00pm.
Autism.
6.30pm. Warning that bedtime is in half an hour.
Autism.
6.45pm. Warning that bedtime is in 15 minutes.
Autism.
7.00pm. Tablets off/activity away.
Chaos. Kicking. Screaming.
Autism.
7.05pm. Medications given.
Autism.
7.10pm. Up to bed.
Count each teddy. Carry them upstairs in order.
Autism.
7.13pm. Go upstairs.
My girl has to go first. Then my boy, then me, then Daddy. Any other order she isn’t going.
Autism.
7.15pm. Toilet and Teeth.
Sensory problems mean shouting, screaming or complete refusal.
Autism.
7.30pm. Time to get into bed.
Clothes off. Pillows placed exactly in the same place, up at a certain angle.
Autism.
7.35pm……onwards.
Read a story. Sit with my girl until falls asleep.
Autism.
9.00pm. Still awake.
Obsessing about something. Repetitive chatter
Autism.
10.00pm. Drifting off to sleep.
Autism.
11.00pm. Mum and Dad sneak into bed.
My girl wakes up.
Autism.

Repeat 5 days a week.

I so can’t wait……..I say this with sarcasm as I find it all so difficult.
I just cannot imagine how hard it is for my girl.
It is utterly heartbreaking.
Things need to change…..
…this Autism Mum is working on it.

Leave a Reply

