It will be ok.

When all is quiet and I get a moment alone,
I think of my girl, how much she has grown,
How much has changed, it was harder back then,
I cannot believe that she is already ten!

The visions I had when she was first diagnosed,
How I feared her to be so different to most,
But none of that mattered; it’s now clear to see,
The biggest thing that had to change was me.

I used to be quiet, not say boo to a goose,
But fighting for my girl set my inner beast loose,
Getting used to the stares and the tuts when we’re out,
Getting used to my girls constant need to shout!

I had to become strong, to take on a role,
To be my girls advocate, but her Mum first of all,
To stay focused in the fear of how things may turn out,
I have changed so much, that’s without doubt.

It hasn’t been easy, at times it’s been rough,
The pressure it puts on the family is tough,
To be strong all the time when you’ve barely slept,
To plaster a smile on my face after I’ve wept.

I look back to the start and see how far we’ve come,
And I am happy to be a special needs Mum,
The diagnosis, the stigma, all that I feared,
I now realise all she needs is for me to be here.

I look to the future, wonder what my girl will be;
She can be anything she wants, she’ll always have me,
With the support from the friends we’ve met on the way,
I know that everything will turn out ok.

Leave a Reply

