Where are you?

As I look into your eyes I see,
Anxiety staring back at me,
Your empty face looking on,
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

As I watch you stimming as you stare,
I wonder if you are aware,
You’ve wondered off, anxiety latched on,
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

I watch you when you struggle to cope,
I sit and wish and pray and hope,
That a meltdown’s not going to come along.
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

The meltdown hits, there’s nothing I can do,
I keep you safe and comfort you,
There’s nothing there, you’re so withdrawn,
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

You lose control, you scream and shout,
I wish I knew what it was all about,
I want to get through this, need to move on,
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

You start to quiet, stimming comes back,
We try to calm you, get you back on track,
Still your eyes, fixed, look on,
Where, My Girl, have you gone?

Your smile returns, you get up off the floor,
No recollection of what’s happened before,
Do you remember, do you know?
Where, My Girl, did you go?

Leave a Reply

