When I look in the mirror.

When I looked in the mirror as a little girl,
I thought I would grow up and conquer the world,
I’d get married, have children and have lots of money,
I’d have a big house and live somewhere sunny.

When I looked in the mirror as a girl in my teens,
My thoughts were of boys and fashionable jeans,
Young, free and single and only thinking of me,
Imagining that this is how life would always be.

When I looked in the mirror at my growing bump,
In my late 20’s and about to become a Mum,
I’d become a nurse and got on the property ladder,
It wasn’t ever sunny, but that didn’t matter.

When I looked in the mirror, my baby girl in my arms,
I knew I’d be there for her and keep her from harm,
I thought it would be easy, but then I got a fright,
When someone met my baby and said something wasn’t right.

When I looked in the mirror as a worried Mum,
I’d see a face of guilt, it must be something I had done,
My girl had got older, been diagnosed with a condition,
I never once imagined I’d have a child with Autism.

When I look in the mirror with my gorgeous girl,
Her Autism hidden away from the world,
I know that my job is to make people Autism Aware,
To raise awareness, promote acceptance and always be there.

4 thoughts on “When I look in the mirror.

Leave a comment